Corporeal. Magical. Cerebral. Mischievous. Colorful. Musical.


Everything Tones

Everything Tones is a collection of eighty-five poems. In its infancy, it was meant to be four hundred poems. Upon realizing that was almost impossible for one poetry collection, the project was forgotten. But not for long, as Josiah "Jo" Hackett saved his own day, finding seventeen words to craft into variations. Each section is a comprised of a title and word, wherein that word functions somewhere in the poems of that section. There are five poems per section of varying lengths, but somewhere in the ballpark of five lines to two pages of poetry.

Kaleidoscopic Creatures

Kaleidoscopic Creatures is a collection of poems celebrating the individuality of animals. The first of these, chronologically, were written on the back steps leading to backside of Mr. Jo's former home. From there, Mr. Jo asked his friends to write poems with him. They delivered. Included in this collection of poems are topics ranging from tragedy to peace and animals ranging from butterflies to Komodo dragons.

Fifth Night

Out of the budding friendship of four college students comes Fifth Night, a poetry passion project written across many late nights and laughter. Fueled by cold Mexican takeout and their love for the craft of writing, Chloe J. Hackett, Josiah "Jo" Hackett, Autumn Owens, and Claire Prins put together a beautifully haphazard collection of found poetry, poetry set to music, cumulative poetry, and assorted utter nonsense. Titles like Texas Freaking Toast are juxtaposed against heart-wrenching descriptions of love, loss, and what it means to leave childhood behind.

Tinted Fires

Tinted Fires is a dive into the relationship between anxiety and dreams, a journey of reconciling with reality while being haunted by nightmares. Josiah "Jo" Hackett sets Tinted Fires to music for the purpose of sharing those anxieties in an aural form. From the burns of the past in Rock Bottom to the refusal to drown in Repetition, Hackett, after three collections, continues to push the boundary of humanity while staying completely grounded.

Dyed Dwellings

Dyed Dwellings is a collection of four longer poems. The first of the four, An Ode to the Tiny, Fearful Ambassadors, is a continuation of a poem in Tangible Colors. The second, The Whirlpool Collection, is a rewritten project, exploring the lies many believe about shame and guilt. The third, Under Demolition, is a smattering of variations on the word, soulless. The fourth, Dyed Dwellings, is an illustration of Mishawaka and Akron from the perspective of a resident of both.

Tangible Colors

Tangible Colors explores the different feelings and experiences that colors can create in the mind. Each poem has an emotion or intangible concept attached to it, along with a poetry type, black and white picture, and color. In this way, through the words and experiences they evoke, love and identity can become as tangible as concrete.

Daily Prisms

Daily Prisms was a challenge set forth by the author to see if he could write at least one poem each and every day. Ultimately, he failed. Some breaks were taken. Some dates were fabricated. And while writing a poem each day did not come to fruition, it served as a great exercise to write at least something every day even when writing felt too difficult or out of reach.